Mid-Year Book Freak Out tag

I saw this on BookTube and thought it would be fun to do, even if it is almost August. It was created by Read Like Wildfire. It’s about only what you’ve read in 2016.

The best book I’ve read so far… 

Hands down Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee. Nothing so far has topped it for me. 


Best sequel…

I’ve only read one sequel this year so far, so this wins by default but it was pretty good. 


A new release that I haven’t read but want to…

I really want to read The Fireman by Joe Hill. The premise of the story sounds so interesting! 


Most anticipated release of the second half of 2016…

I didn’t have an answer for this because I seriously have no clue what is being released. I should keep up more, but I generally read more backlist books. 

Biggest disappointment…


I love MaryJanice Davidson, usually. I’ve read most of the Undead and UnWed series and her Alaskan Royals series. I’m starting to notice a lot of similarities between all of her main protagonists and not seeing a lot of differences. 

Biggest surprise… 

I don’t know why I didn’t think I’d like this book but I ended up loving it. It was short but very impactful. 


New favorite author…

Sunil Yapa, Alexander Chee, Cheryl Strayed… I read so many “new to me” authors this year that I have loved. 

Newest Fictional Crush: 

I hate this question.  I don’t really get fictional “crushes,” but if I had to choose… I finally read The Great Gatsby this year and I love the hope that Jay Gatsby is full of. However, I don’t think I’d ever enter a relationship with a guy like Gatsby. 

Newest Favorite Character…

Lilliet Berne from Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee. She’s so interesting and the journey she takes in her story is so fascinating. She has a gift that will eventually disappear, and what she does with her life knowing that… It’s just such a good book, please read it because I don’t think enough people have. 

A book that made you cry…


A Storied Life of A. J. Fikry;  it’s a book about a very curmudgeon guy that sells books, and also second chances. 

I should add that Wild by Cheryl Strayed had me in tears and also The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton made me a sobbing mess. 

A book that made you happy…


I don’t really care for Romeo and Juliet. I understand the value of it, it’s just not my favorite. So naturally, I pick up a book where I can change the story. I’m not even sure how you consider this book “read” as there are so many different ways this book can end, depending on what you choose. I mean… There’s even cyborgs. 

The most beautiful book I bought…


I am in love with these editions of Dracula and Frankenstein. Not pictured: the edges of these pages are black (Dracula) and red (Frankenstein). The covers feel like leather, but I don’t think they are, and there’s a ribbon bookmark. They’re just so pretty. 

A book I need to finish by the end of the year…

I am cheating and picking two, because I’ve never read these and apparently that’s a big deal. 


I hope you enjoyed this and if you want to do it I would love to read it 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out tag

Leave a comment